Photoshop CC Yay or Nay?

PSCC

I’m no professional but I think it’s safe to say I am a photographer. I do take pictures. I do my best to edit those photos and then produce those images to clients. Meanwhile, this girl is on a free 30 day trial of Lightroom 4. I have so much going on with trying to get my furniture and décor business up and running, designing the new house-even before we have closed, starting this fun blog, keeping up with all my social media pages and figuring out how to do everything the way I want it, and everyday life, I am also trying to be a GOOD photographer so I can feel good about one day charging for the images I produce.

Photoshop Creative Cloud came across the “Jessi waves” today. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I’ve read up on their blog and there seems to be all sorts of opinions from the pros and other users. This is all happening at a perfect time for me because I was just suggesting to my hubs (after him asking me over and over) I get Photoshop for Mother’s Day. From what I gather the new Photoshop CC is a “cloud” program that will allow you to have the most up to date software without having to wait 18-24 months and having to re-purchase the software again. The catch is, it’s a monthly subscription of $10/month. That’s the introductory rate for existing PS owners. So I’m not sure where that leaves me.

I do like the idea of being able to access PS from anywhere, ie mobile. I also like not having to run out and purchase new software just to have the latest abilities and not having to wait! I think I have some more reading to do because I’m not sure I want my images in a “cloud”. Would I have to change my model release and disclosure to include “your photos map appear in outer space”? The PhotoShop CC info just posted May 6th, so I know there are a lot of questions being asked and answered so I will keep my eyes on their website and blog. As with all new things of this nature I’m sure there are some kinks that will need to be ironed out and I am not a fan of being a guinea pig and certainly have no desire to be sued. So until I can write a book on this new Photoshop Creative Cloud I will not be making the investment (it doesn’t release until June, anyway). However I will be jumping into the PhotoShop pond and reminding daddy that I want that. 😉

Leave a Reply

