Day 1 of home makeover…

Clean and Prep-Master Bedroom and Nursery Edition

Materials needed:

  • Mop with sponge head
  • Mop bucket
  • Degreaser Dish soap
  • Spackle
  • Scraper
  • 120 sand paper
  • Drop Cloths
  • Flat head screw driver
  • Painters tape
  • EYE PROTECTION
  • DUST MASK
  • Vinegar
  • Spray bottle
  • Sponge
  • plastic covers for any furniture left in the room

We’ve already purchase our materials and have a plan of attack for our first home purchase. My intentions for blogging about our house makeover is to not only share with my friends and family the progress we are making but to help others with their DIY projects. I will share boat loads of time-saving tips for any home project.  If you are a DIYer, please make your self at home here. The condition of our fixer-upper is what some might consider GRODY! The house was built in 1972 and that’s probably the last time the walls were clean and painted. YIKES! Luckily otherwise in good shape. Here’s where we started…

  1. Please wear eye protection! I didn’t think I needed it until I went to remove the blinds and plastic flew into my eye 5 mins in!
  2. Remove as much as you can from the room, walls and windows.
  3. Cover any furniture left in the room with plastic.
  4. Remove cover plates and tape over outlets.
  5. Line the floors with drop cloths.
  6. (If you have clean walls and ceiling skip to step 6) I pray you don’t have popcorn ceiling for this…Use the mop and bucket you got from the dollar store to wash your ceiling and walls. Only use a couple TEASPOONS of dish soap and HOT water. Make sure your water is not sudsy.
GROSS ceiling! Scrub a dub dub- dish soap and HOT water in a tub. Add sponge mop and elbow grease.

GROSS ceiling! Scrub a dub dub- dish soap and HOT water in a tub. Add sponge mop and elbow grease.

READ: Wear eye protection and dust mask.

READ: Wear eye protection and dust mask. (I’ll get to how we easily removed wall paper in a bit…keep reading!)

Remove cover plates and cover outlets with painters tape.

Remove cover plates and cover outlets with painters tape.

Lay the drop cloths to cover as much of the floor as possible. May get slippery (if you have tile) so I'd use a clothe type. If you have carpet, use  plastic. We also used an old blanket ;)

Lay the drop cloths to cover as much of the floor as possible. May get slippery (if you have tile) so I’d use a clothe type. If you have carpet, use plastic. We also used an old blanket 😉

While this room dries from washing the ceiling and walls, let’s get to our little angel’s room-to-be. The first thing we wanted to tackle was the much DREADED wallpaper. I can’t tell you how much I feared the wallpaper in this house just chipping off in one inch chips. I read so many nightmare stories online and how-tos. Again, we can only assume this wallpaper has been on the walls for ump-teen years. Well, I have the magic recipe to remove wallpaper. And it’s simple.house18

House11

Remember when wallpaper border was cool? Me either! Well, except I did eminence with my husband about this one time when I was a teen and had leopard print border in my bedroom! Did I just say that? Haha. Back to removing the wallpaper…

For this project you’ll need:

  • scraper
  • spray bottle
  • vinegar
  • HOT water
  • step stool or ladder
  • patience

To remove wallpaper:

  1. Mix 1/4 vinegar with 3/4 HOT water in your spray bottle.
  2. Only spray about 12-24 inches out at a time. It takes a few moments to scrape the wallpaper and dries rather quickly.
  3. Make sure to spray heavily and that the paper is completely saturated and soaked through for at least a minute before scraping.
  4. Find a corner to start with and slowly peel up the wallpaper pulling the paper with one hand and scraping underneath with the other. I kept the spray bottle in my “pulling paper” hand and would just spray as I went.

On my project the paper came up without a problem but the adhesive lingered behind. It was very easy to scrape off and after a few minutes I had it down. I would say it probably took about a 30-45 minutes to complete. (That’s just border of a very small room.)

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

house18

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

Next you will need:

  • Spackle
  • Scraper
  • Sand paper
  • Sponge

Once the walls are dry fill in any nail holes and imperfections with the spackle and scraper. We wanted to make sure ours was perfect so we had about a bazillion patches. Try to only use as much spackle as the little holes need with no excess. Just because it will be less sanding and less dust in the end.

Once the spackle dries, sand all the spots until even with the wall. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ON YOUR DUST MASK AND EYE PROTECTION.

The last step is to wipe down any dust on the walls and around the windows where you intend on painting.

Fill in any nail holes with spackle and sand.

Fill in any nail holes with spackle and sand.

The last thing I would suggest is to test your paint on the wall with a few strokes of the color you chose before pouring it into the pan and making a day of it. When I did this I found out real quick we needed a darker color in the nursery. The paint we chose looked white!

Testing the paint color. Suppose to be a light pink but looks white! Right?

Testing the paint color. Suppose to be a light pink but looks white! Right?

Testing paint color in the master bedroom.That's my hubby removing the hardware :)

Testing paint color in the master bedroom. That’s my hubby removing the hardware 🙂

DSC06689

Master Bedroom is ready for paint!

Nursery is ready for paint!

Nursery is ready for paint!

Leave a Reply

